Home Inquiry Form Breakfast & Brunch Menus Personal Chef Photo Gallery Catering Menus About Us

TESTIMONIALS


October 6, 2008

 To Whom It May Concern:

 

It is with great honor that I recommend the services of Mr. Mike Jay, The Freelance Chef, to you.  Earlier this year, I was fortunate to have his services for a Black & White Formal party that I was hosting.

 The party was a huge success due largely to the professional services of Mr. Mike Jay, The Freelance Chef and his extremely talented team.  The entire process with Mr. Jay was effortless and reassuring.  Mr. Jay helped with picking the appetizers and making suggestions.  He answered any questions or concerns that I had and made me feel completely comfortable with all final decisions.  During the party, Mr. Jay and his team were professional and courteous.   The food that Mr. Jay prepared was absolutely amazing and my guests were completely impressed.  Mr. Jay, his professional team, and his incredible culinary talents made this party a night to remember.

 It is with great enthusiasm and without reservation that I recommend Mr. Mike Jay, The Freelance Chef.  Should you have any questions, feel free to contact me at (407) 406-4091. 

  Sincerely,

  Troy D. Miller RPh.





We were absolutely astounded and delighted with the catering and service provided by Michael Jay.  

   In addition to being overtaken by the delectable cuisine created in our vacation home and wowed by the black-tie service, we were taken aback with Michael’s genuine interest in helping us. In advance of our arrival, Michael scoped out local suppliers and provided qualified recommendations on where to go enabling us to plan our wedding from 5,000 miles away.     As a professional event planner, I wish Michael Jay lived here in   Edmonton  as I would certainly have him cater all of my events with absolute confidence.  

  Aimee and Andy Holt

 Communications Director

Alberta  Centre for Child, Family and Community Research

601-9925-109 Street

 Edmonton ,  AB    T5K 2J8   

T:  780-944-8636

F:  780-944-8637

C:  780-497-0757

E:  acaster@research4children.com



We are a  London based company and we were over in   Orlando  for a conference, and I had to organize a party at our rented villa.  Not an easy task to do at the best of times, made even more difficult by the fact that it had to be organized from   London  !  Also it had to perfect as we were entertaining some very important clients.

 

Michael took great care to ensure that we had exactly what we needed, and worked within our budget to produce a fantastic selection of Hors D’Ourves, which all our guests raved about.  

Michael and his team arrived in plenty of time to set up the bar and kitchen, which gave me plenty of time to get the villa ready to greet our guests.

 

When our guests started arriving, drinks were offered immediately, and their glasses were constantly topped up throughout the evening.  The hors D’Ourves were circulated all evening as well, which allowed me and the rest of my colleagues to entertain our clients.  

Michael and his team were incredibly professional throughout the whole process, which made my job so much easier.  If you are planning any kind of function I would not hesitate to recommend them, they were friendly, discreet and efficient. They also cleared everything afterwards, and only had to come back the following day to collect the last few items that couldn’t be taken away the previous evening.  

We were all so impressed by Michael and his team, and I got extra brownie points for finding them!  Our party was the talk of the conference!  So, Michael, on behalf of Decus Brokers, we would like to say a huge thank you to all of you!

Impressive!

 

Catriona Mackay

On behalf of Decus Brokers Ltd,   London ,  England  .

 



From Peter and Lisa Ockerman                                                                  December 21, 2009

 

To:  Michael Jay Freelance Chef

I wanted to take this opportunity to thank you for the wonderful food and service you provided for my daughter Rachel's wedding.  December 19th 2009 at   Temple  Beth  Emeth.

The food was superb and the wait staff you provided was courteous and professional.

The prime rib, salmon kabobs, chicken  Marsala , 3 different desserts was excellent, served hot and was delicious.  Wait staff manning the bar checked everyone and there were no issues.  Our guests were thrilled and complemented us on selecting you.  We had many quests at the house and you packaged all the leftovers for us afterwards.

 

Thanks again, Peter and Lisa Ockerman

heresa E.

"I had the pleasure of utilizing Chef Michael Jay and his team in my home for a private dinner party. They were punctual, professional, and did I mention that the food was outstanding (Surf & Turf). The service was first class. Will use them again. Theresa E."


Steve S.

Offsite review

"I recently underwent a liver transplant and one of our friends wanted to provide us with a meal. Given that they live out of town, they contacted Michael and enlisted him to prepare a meal for us.

The meal was outstanding and he was very conscientious of the special food preparation needs we had. He was very engaging, quite funny and a joy to spend the afternoon/early evening with. The meal was freshly made, tasted amazing and we had quite an evening. Many thanks to our friends and to Michael for providing us with such a special evening and an even better meal. We would highly recommend him for any size get together and plan on having him return for another meal in the future!"


Jennifer B.

"I contacted Michael Jay to make a meal for a friend who lives far away and just had major surgery. I was told the food was amazing and watching him do the preparation was fun for our recovering friend! He was very professional and paid careful attention to the food restrictions and preparation requirements our friend needed addressed! Great experience!"


Ian O.

Offsite review

"Michael catered my sister's wedding, my family couldn't have beem happier. An excellent chef and the service was top notch as well. Highly recommended!!!!"


Peter O.

Offsite review

"Michael Jay catered my daughters wedding and it was fantastic. The food was perfect and the serving was great. All my guests thoroughly enjoyed the appetizers, dinner and dessert. I highly recommend Michael as a chef and caterer. "


Noelle G.

Offsite review

"Great food made to our tastes and dietary requirements. Michael is very nice to work with


Doug S.

Offsite review

"Chef Mike....is the best.....he is so creative....best yet....his personality is as great as his food....
You have to have his brisket.....the best I have ever had.

Marquasha W.

Offsite review

"Great chef, whipped up a great meal for brunch in less than one hour!"


Alix C.

"The food was excellent. The service was perfect. And our kitchen was left spotless! "



Andy O.


Need personal chef services


"With a short lead time, Chef Michael provided great turnaround for a family dinner for 15+ guests... We collaborated on the menu and the food was enjoyed by all. Great service throughout the process - from menu development, meal prep, serving, and clean up... A job well done and we will recommend him to others. "

December 16, 2014


Nancy O.


Offsite review


"Oh what a splendid treat we experienced in celebrating a family member's birthday! Michael delivered a deliciously superb meal to 17 people and it was HOT! The portions were generous, the presentation highend and the chocolate cake was amazing! Michael was very engaging and evening was a true delight as we were all able to savor a gourmet meal "in-home". Would highly recommend. "

December 5, 2014


Pat C.


Offsite review


"Everything about the experience our family had to make our father's 89th birthday special while working with Michael was wonderful! He had unique menu ideas, creative suggestions to take "ordinary" to the next level, and a calm manner peppered with the perfect amount of humor to put everyone at ease.

The food was prepared, plated and served perfectly - possibly the best salmon I have ever eaten! Protests of too much food fell silent as the decadent chocolate dessert was served and devoured. I think we would all agree our goal of an intimate home setting with 5 star menu and service was achieved - and then some! Will recommend Michael Jay without question!"

November 30, 2014


James F.


Offsite review


"Chef Mike helped us set up and offer an enhanced menu for our Oktoberfest at Brewery Becker in Brighton, MI. Thu-Sat Sept 25-27.Chef Mike was very prompt and the food was outstanding.


My customers were overjoyed with our enhanced menu and made many comments indicating so. Chef Mike put together a simple, but incredibly tasty menu. The Brisket and Schnitzel on a pretzel bun were fantastic and the Beef Stew was the best I have tasted. The food was top-notch.


The whole project could have gone smoother with better planning on our part. We came up with the idea of enhancing the menu only a couple of days prior to the event. Chef Mike and his menu and planning were crucial to the success of the event. He made it all happen, Everything went smooth as silk. I look forward to Chef Mike making a more permanent contribution to our food offerings at the Brewery in the future."

October 12, 2014


Monica M.


Need Personal Chef Services


"Chef Michael was wonderful. I would highly recommend him to anyone. With only short notice he prepared a delicious and creative meal. He was professional, on-time, and went out of his way to make the experience special. "

September 10, 2014


Lee P.


Offsite review


"As an Event Planner it is always wonderful to find a personal chef that is willing to go the extra mile for you, when you are trying to have an successful event. From start to finish , Chef Michael was excellent . From helping us select a menu , selecting wines, dressing the part, preparation of fresh food ( jaw dropping delicious appitizers and the main course), in my clients home, to the cleaning up at the end. It was perfect. Michael Jay exceeded my expectations, from food presentation, creativity, and his interaction with my client's guest, as well as preparing well prepared, delicious dishes for our luau theme and providing a server, who was as amusing and very helpful. I will definitly be using him again in the very near future,as my number one choice as a personal chef. I highly recommend him! "

September 10, 2014


Trish B.


Need personal chef services


"I hired Chef Michael Jay for a surprise birthday dinner for my husband aboard our boat. I have had several catered events in my own personal home, but I have never hired a personal chef before, especially one to prepare dinner on my boat. I have to say that he honestly exceeded my expectations. On top of being extremely accommodating with working in a non traditional kitchen, he was professional, punctual, and was able to provide us with an amazing experience. The meal he prepared for us was outstanding. Everything was so fresh and flavorful...from the delicious appetizer, salad and entrée to the yummy dessert. He definitely impressed us with his culinary skills. My husband absolutely loved the experience, as did I. I would highly recommend hiring him, and will most definitely call upon him for future events. "

August 5, 2014


Kashif Q.


Offsite review


"He was outstanding went above and beyond . He took care of all planning and arrangements for a surprise party for my wife and family . His team was great and food was fabulous .

Will recommend him without hesitation

He is excellent .

"

August 4, 2014


Jacalyn S.


Offsite review


"Chef Michael is pleasant and easy to deal with. We host an annual barbecue for our friends, but it is becoming more and more difficult to do everything and still enjoy the event, especially this year after my husband's knee surgery. The event took place at our house over a four hour period. Michael arrived early, so no worries there. The quality of the food was outstanding and was extremely fresh, with a special shout out for the fish. We especially loved his home-made cheesecakes. He brought all the necessary heating and cooling elements and various other necessities. He also brought an assistant, which was helpful. He provided an abundance of very tasty, well-prepared food. He was also amenable to changes I came up with as the time of the event drew near."

July 27, 2014



Shannon J.


Need catering


"The food was fantastic and Chef Michael and his staff were very professional!"

December 15, 2014


Carol M.


Need catering


"Michael was the perfect vendor for my event. It can be difficult hiring someone for an event without a taste test or live demo. I am glad to say that no one was disappointed by the Freelance Chef."

November 9, 2014


Steve B.


Need catering


"Chef Mike Jay was extremely professional and easy to work with. The food and service was beyound reproach.


I trusted my election night festivities with this gentleman and wasn't let down. "

November 5, 2014


John G.


Need personal chef services


"Chef Michael was extremely well prepared, very conscientious about the presentation to our guests and pulled everything off in a remarkable manner. We will certainly be using his fantastic services again. Thank you Chef. Well done. "


It was my pleasure, and i'm looking forward to your next party.

Thanks again

October 27, 2014


Dianne C.


Need catering


"he is a willing and giving chef who will go out of his way to make a nice luncheon or dinner within your budget no matter how small or big your budget is he will make it happen for a reasonable cost and still give you high quality food "


Laura A.


Need catering


"We were tremendously happy with Michael Jay's food and service for wedding reception. Throughout the process he was very prompt and thorough in his communication with us.


We liked the idea of food stations. Michael gave us a bunch of great suggestions and worked with us on budget and customizing the menu to our tastes. Our guests are still talking about how delicious the food was. Everyone from the foodies to picky eaters were very happy.


We had our reception at the Detroit Historical Museum. Michael hadn't worked with them before and the logistics of preparing fresh food on-site were a bit complicated. Fortunately, they worked everything out beautifully. The staff he brought in was great, especially the bar tender.


There were a few last-minute hiccups, but that's to be expected and I don't think our guests noticed. My only regret is that we didn't eat more of the food. It was truly wonderful."

May 8, 2015


Angela W.


Need catering (full service)


"Michael catered my intimate wedding for 30 in a private home. He was a great choice! Chose gourmet options and the food was amazing. (Prime rib and salmon) My guests asked me how I found him. I'm no party planner and he has great ideas and took the stress away. He even helped with serving my cake, cleaned up and packed the food for me when he was done!"

April 15, 2015


Veronica B.


Offsite review


"Excellent service. Extremely professional and detail oriented. Exceptional food and presentation. I would recommend the Freelance Chef for any event. Michael Jay did an outstanding job."

February 26, 2015


Anabel T.


Need catering (drop-off)


"Delicious food and great service."

February 16, 2015


Bernadette G.


Offsite review


"Chef Mike goes above and beyond. His food is amazing; we received many compliments about the food at our event. We also had him do a meal for just us two at our home before we hired him for our event. We were amazed at the tasty food he prepared in our kitchen after never having cooked there before. I highly recommend him for his culinary skills."

January 28, 2015


Shannon J.


Need catering


"The food was fantastic and Chef Michael and his staff were very professional!"

December 15, 2014


Carol M.


Need catering


"Michael was the perfect vendor for my event. It can be difficult hiring someone for an event without a taste test or live demo. I am glad to say that no one was disappointed by the Freelance Chef."

November 9, 2014


Steve B.


Need catering


"Chef Mike Jay was extremely professional and easy to work with. The food and service was beyound reproach.


I trusted my election night festivities with this gentleman and wasn't let down."

November 5, 2014


John G.


Need personal chef services


"Chef Michael was extremely well prepared, very conscientious about the presentation to our guests and pulled everything off in a remarkable manner. We will certainly be using his fantastic services again. Thank you Chef. Well done."

It was my pleasure, and i'm looking forward to your next party.

Thanks again

October 27, 2014



Jessica J.


Offsite review


"I got Michael's number from a friend and he was very quick to answer my calls and questions promptly. He was very professional! He was our Chef for an omelette station and it was perfect! All our guest gave him 5 stars! Thanks Mike!"

May 4, 2015


Angela T.


Offsite review


"Hired Michael Jay right here in Thumbtack. His gourmet menu was perfect for our intimate wedding. He did a wonderful job and the food was amazing! My family all asked where did you find this guy? He even helped with things I didn't ask for like serving the wedding cake. I give him tons of credit because I had no idea what I wanted or how to do it. I'm no party planner. He was full if suggestions and ran with it. Took my stress away. I'd hire again!!"

April 13, 2015


Nada D.


Need personal chef (one time)


"Chef Mike was very easy to work with and met all of my requests. I hired him for a surprise Valentine's dinner at home for my husband and me. He worked with me on the timing and surprise. We had a full 4 course meal and everything was delicious. The calamari with curry was so different and yummy, and his crème Brulée was so simple, yet one of the best I've had! All the food was great. He was there for over 3 hours in total.

Would definitely recommend him to friends. I would only make one suggestion, and that would be ask him to remove his shoes if you're a stickler about that. We ended up mopping up shoe prints after he left, but not a big deal."

February 16, 2015


Ashley K.


Offsite review


"I hired Chef Mike for my husbands birthday breakfast, it was a surprise! My husband absolutely loved it! Chef Mike was punctual and very impressive. He made corned beef hash, stuffed French toast, an omelette, waffles, eggs Benedict with hash browns then berries with a hot chocolate sauce. It was unreal....the French toast was my fav! My husband said he couldn't choose what he loved most. We had tons of left overs, he plated the food beautifully! He also cleaned up after himself and put away all of our leftovers nicely! He was super nice! (plus his accent was fun to listen to!!!) We will definitely be using him again and we have already passed his number along to friends! A+ to Chef Mike!"

January 22, 2015


Laura M.


Offsite review


"Chef Michael and Marcel were wonderful! The octopus salad was the best we had, the salad wonderful, and the lamb and lobster outstanding! The bread for the meal (along with everything else) was made onsite. The meal was fantastic and they left my kitchen cleaner than how they found it. Really personable guys and great talent!!"

December 30, 2014


Andy O.


Need personal chef services


"With a short lead time, Chef Michael provided great turnaround for a family dinner for 15+ guests... We collaborated on the menu and the food was enjoyed by all. Great service throughout the process - from menu development, meal prep, serving, and clean up... A job well done and we will recommend him to others."

December 16, 2014


Nancy O.


Offsite review


"Oh what a splendid treat we experienced in celebrating a family member's birthday! Michael delivered a deliciously superb meal to 17 people and it was HOT! The portions were generous, the presentation high end and the chocolate cake was amazing! Michael was very engaging and evening was a true delight as we were all able to savor a gourmet meal "in-home". Would highly recommend."

December 5, 2014


Pat C.


Offsite review


"Everything about the experience our family had to make our father's 89th birthday special while working with Michael was wonderful! He had unique menu ideas, creative suggestions to take "ordinary" to the next level, and a calm manner peppered with the perfect amount of humor to put everyone at ease.

The food was prepared, plated and served perfectly - possibly the best salmon I have ever eaten! Protests of too much food fell silent as the decadent chocolate dessert was served and devoured. I think we would all agree our goal of an intimate home setting with 5 star menu and service was achieved - and then some! Will recommend Michael Jay without question!"

November 30, 2014


James F.


Offsite review


"Chef Mike helped us set up and offer an enhanced menu for our Oktoberfest at Brewery Becker in Brighton, MI. Thu-Sat Sept 25-27.Chef Mike was very prompt and the food was outstanding.


My customers were overjoyed with our enhanced menu and made many comments indicating so. Chef Mike put together a simple, but incredibly tasty menu. The Brisket and Schnitzel on a pretzel bun were fantastic and the Beef Stew was the best I have tasted. The food was top-notch.


The whole project could have gone smoother with better planning on our part. We came up with the idea of enhancing the menu only a couple of days prior to the event. Chef Mike and his menu and planning were crucial to the success of the event. He made it all happen, Everything went smooth as silk. I look forward to Chef Mike making a more permanent contribution to our food offerings at the Brewery in the future."

October 12, 2014


Monica M.


Need Personal Chef Services


"Chef Michael was wonderful. I would highly recommend him to anyone. With only short notice he prepared a delicious and creative meal. He was professional, on-time, and went out of his way to make the experience special."

September 10, 2014


Lee P.


Offsite review


"As an Event Planner it is always wonderful to find a personal chef that is willing to go the extra mile for you, when you are trying to have an successful event. From start to finish , Chef Michael was excellent . From helping us select a menu , selecting wines, dressing the part, preparation of fresh food ( jaw dropping delicious appetizers and the main course), in my clients home, to the cleaning up at the end. It was perfect. Michael Jay exceeded my expectations, from food presentation, creativity, and his interaction with my client's guest, as well as preparing well prepared, delicious dishes for our luau theme and providing a server, who was as amusing and very helpful. I will definitely be using him again in the very near future,as my number one choice as a personal chef. I highly recommend him!"


Kyla M.

"Chef Mike was our wedding hero, and we give him our whole-hearted recommendation.

We met with the Chef about 10 months before our wedding, at which point he laid out a sample menu, table arrangement suggestions, cost projections, and assurances of timelines. As the day approached, we met a couple more times, each time with the Chef accommodating our schedules on the weekends (as we were planning remotely).

A few weeks before the wedding, we decided our bartending service was not providing enough for the cost. Chef stepped up with all appropriate licenses, staff, and materials at a lower price.

The day of, he and his crew were beautifully set up, flexible to our location, and on-point with setting up table decor. The food was AMAZING, the bar service prompt and well-made, and the cake acquired at his recommendation was raved over. The services of the Freelance Chef made our day."


Top of Form 1


Bottom of Form 1

September 16, 2015


Laura A.

"We were tremendously happy with Michael Jay's food and service for wedding reception. Throughout the process he was very prompt and thorough in his communication with us.

We liked the idea of food stations. Michael gave us a bunch of great suggestions and worked with us on budget and customizing the menu to our tastes. Our guests are still talking about how delicious the food was. Everyone from the foodies to picky eaters were very happy.

We had our reception at the Detroit Historical Museum. Michael hadn't worked with them before and the logistics of preparing fresh food on-site were a bit complicated. Fortunately, they worked everything out beautifully. The staff he brought in was great, especially the bar tender.

There were a few last-minute hiccups, but that's to be expected and I don't think our guests noticed. My only regret is that we didn't eat more of the food. It was truly wonderful."


Top of Form 2


Bottom of Form 2

May 8, 2015


Angela W.

"Michael catered my intimate wedding for 30 in a private home. He was a great choice! Chose gourmet options and the food was amazing. (Prime rib and salmon) My guests asked me how I found him. I'm no party planner and he has great ideas and took the stress away. He even helped with serving my cake, cleaned up and packed the food for me when he was done!"


Adam U.

"Michael catered my mother's 80th b-day party. We had 15 folks coming in from all over for the occasion. I was responsible for the meal planning and thankfully stumbled across Michael's profile. He did an EXCELLENT job. After I explained the situation, he asked what my mother's favorite dishes were to help me plan the meal. He delivered an outstanding meal, helped prepare the settings and (per our choice) left us to devour. Everyone was so happy with the result. I highly recommend The Freelance Chef for any catering job. He will customize the menu to suit whatever your needs, and ensure your desires are met."


Top of Form 1


Bottom of Form 1

August 18, 2015


John Y.

"Michael was absolutely superb in every way imaginable. He was thoughtful, on time, used organic and delicious ingredients and cooked food perfectly. I surprised my wife for an anniversary brunch at our home and we could not have been more thrilled. This is the first time I have ever posted a review of anyone for anything, which shows how exceptional Michael is."


Top of Form 2


Bottom of Form 2

August 16, 2015


Alyssa R.

"Chef Michael and his staff did an awesome job at our company breakfast. Not only was the food great, but they worked very hard and were very professional the whole time. Chef Michael is also a great communicator and was very easy to work with."